Punjab Women Commission (PWC)

A Brief Introduction

The Punjab Women Commission was formed vide notification No. 2/31/91-2(SW) 1728, Dated 19/05/1998 by the Department of Social Security and Development of Women & Children, Govt. of Punjab. This was followed by notification of The Punjab State Commission For Women Act, 2001 (Punjab Act No.4 of 2001) to provide for the constitution of the State Commission for Women with a view the Status of women in the State of Punjab and to enquire into unfair practices affecting women. This Act came into force on 19/4/2001.

Composition of the State Board

The Punjab State Social Welfare Board is constituted by State Govt. with the concurrence of Central Social Welfare Board, New Delhi as per the provision of the rules governing composition and functioning of the State Social Welfare Boards. The present position of the reconstitution of the State Board is as follows:


Smt. Paramjit Kaur Landran was appointed as the Chairperson Chairperson of the Punjab Women Commission for tenure of 3 years on 09/01/2013. Her tenure was extended for another 3 years on 02/02/2016. Satvir Kaur Manhera is the Vice Chairperson of the Commission. The Commission also includes Veerpal Kaur Tarmala, Satwant Kaur Johal and Simarjeet Kaur Sidhu as members.
Director-General of Police (DGP), Punjab and Director, Social Security and Development of Women & Children, Punjab are ex-officio members of the commission. The Commission also includes a Member-Secretary to be appointed from Women IAS/PCS Officers not below the rank of Joint Secretary to the Govt.

For more information about the Commission visit the website: Click Here

The Administrative Report 2015-16 of the commission can be accessed here.

Last Updated: 06 June 2017, 8:20 am

© 2017 DSS, All Right Reserved.

Content Owned, Updated and Maintained by DSS.

D&D by 

C-DAC Mohali